Hullaballoo over Father’s Day

36950173_135839decb_m

Be a Grandfather by Steve Ganz

My dad doesn’t remember buying his dad a gift or making him a card for Father’s Day. Then one Father’s Day a few years ago, my grandfather and father had a conversation. They both claim a few things are not exactly what they said, but this brings out the sentiment quite well, I think.

Here you go:

‘Thanks, son’, to my father.

‘For what?’

‘For your Father’s Day gift.’

‘Huh? I got you nothing.’

‘You did.’

‘What?’

‘The best gift ever – think about it.’

‘Dad, are you losing it? I know I got you nothing. You say Father’s Day gifts are silly, for it’s a Father’s job to be a good father. What’s to thank for, you always say. In fact you also say, it’s a lot of hullaballoo over nothing!’

‘Yes, it is. I do believe it. A baby is the best gift – I don’t need more.’

‘Oh dad, I’m so touched. I did not know my birth was so special.’

‘The lack of sleep, snot, poop, tears, worrying over kids, their school grades, girlfriends, coming to terms with their lack of sporting skill – it’s all been worth it.’

‘Ok, that’s a harsh list and you are worrying me very early in my Daddy life!’

‘No. It’s great being a Dad. But, I am not talking about your birth.’

‘Now I am confused. I thought my birth was the best gift ever.’

‘It was, but, not any more. Your having a baby is the best gift ever. NO shortage of sleep, snot, poop, tears, worrying over kids, their school grades, girlfriends, coming to terms with their lack of sporting skill – nothing. Just being the loving granddad – I can spoil my grandkid rotten, and I don’t have to worry about being a good dad!

The cycle continues – I have become a dad, like my dad, and my dad has become like his, a granddad, spoiling my kids rotten with no qualms!

You might wonder how I know all this. That’s the advantage of having uncles.

The cycle of life continues.

Leave a Reply

